A password will be e-mailed to you.

The new €50.00 bank note went into circulation on Tuesday this week.

There are two series of euro banknotes. The first series consists of the €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500. The new Europa series currently comprises the €5, €10, €20 and €50 and will include the €100 and €200 banknotes in due course. The banknotes from both series are legal tender in the 19 countries of the euro area.

In May 2016 the ECB decided not to produce the Europa series €500 banknote, but the first series €500 notes still in circulation will remain legal tender for an unlimited period of time.