A password will be e-mailed to you.

I am wishing to introduce myself onto the Island and to research a project I have in mind to source interest.

I am a UK NMC (valid PIN number ) general and learning disabilities qualified nurse with many years experience both on the clinical, ‘hands on’ side and  2 recent posts as a Care Home  manager. Currently I am working on a busy high dependency nursing /dementia unit for a well known national company.
My husband and I are intending to relocate to Madeira very soon and are currently house hunting but I would like to start to offer a community service on the Island. Either to join an existing agency or to follow up on home community jobs.
Simply a carers role for personal care, washing, dressing, half days respite for carers allowing ‘ me time ‘ or to visit a friend/ coffee shop/ do shopping etc, pet therapy with Hugo ( pictured, he’s grown up with dementia as came to work daily in the care home ! ) what ever is needed in terms of support for sufferers of  Parkinson’s disease, those  living with Dementia, and their carers, MS or similar life disabling diseases.
With me around you wouldn’t have to return to England or indeed stay away from having family visit, the at home service or possibility to extend to a hotel service so holidays could be taken with a carer (me! ) coming in to help at both ends of the day to help get up then or just settle down at night – just at the point when that extra bit of help is needed.
I understand  there is currently little in terms of this kind of service or I have yet to find?
I would like to hear from people who may use this now or in the future or if anyone knows what is currently available.
Once on the Island and depending on scope I may set up a rural dementia cafe or similar for carers and those with life limiting disabilities. My house for coffee and cake !

Let me have your thoughts

With grateful thanks
Amanda and Hugo
Please leave your comments in the box below the post, or you can email me at madeiraislandnews@gmail.com and I can pass them on to Amanda.