Permits extended to 30th June

Thank you to Dorita Mendonça who found the article about the extention of permits till 30th June.

It is a straight translation from Português, and the link is at the bottom.

Automatic Renewals: More than 16 thousand foreign citizens covered in the fourth phase

The Foreigners and Borders Service (SEF), as part of the simplification of procedures, offers, as of today, the Automatic Renewal functionality for the approximately 16 thousand residence permits that expire between April 1 and June 30, 2021, with guarantee of compliance with safety rules and mitigation of the consequences that resulted from the health emergency situation.

To date, this feature has been available for residence permits that expire on March 31, and the date has now been extended by another three months.

It is recalled that, in July last year, SEF launched this new feature in the “Personal Area” of the SEF Portal where citizens can access the “Automatic Renewal” feature of their residence permit, through a fully digital process that dispenses with the citizen’s physical travel to the service desk. In November 2020, this tool was extended to foreign students, nationals of third countries, attending Higher Education in Portugal. So far, approximately 104 thousand automatic renewals have been carried out, most of which correspond to national citizens of Brazil (49,418), Cape Verde (7,108) and Nepal (6,629).

In practice, this functionality has allowed to reduce the flow of face-to-face assistance at the different SEF branches, contributing significantly to the pandemic mitigation measures.

The Service has been adopting exceptional measures, with a view to recovering pending issues and efficiency in the document management of foreign citizens, following the order No. 5793-A / 2020 of May 22, 2020, which determined the implementation of a simplified procedure examining applications for the granting of a residence permit.

It is reiterated that, in accordance with the provisions of Decree-Law no. 22-A / 2021, of 17 March, with regard to residence documents, visas and documents relating to the stay of foreign citizens in national territory that expired on February 24, 2020 are accepted, in the same terms, until December 31, 2021.

Foreign citizens covered by this Decree-Law continue to be able to access all public services.